Luke Skywalker Can't Read: And Other Geeky Truths

By Ryan Britt

“Ryan Britt is . . . the Virgil you want to guide you through the inferno of geekery.” —Lev Grossman,author of the bestselling Magician's trilogy Pop Culture and sci-fi guru Ryan Britt has never met a monster,alien,wizard,or superhero that didn’t need further analysis. Essayist Ryan Britt got a sex education from dirty pictures of dinosaurs,made out with Jar-Jar Binks at midnight,and figured out how to kick depression with a Doctor Who Netflix-binge. Alternating between personal anecdote,hilarious insight,and smart analysis,Luke Skywalker Can’t Read contends that Barbarella is good for you,that monster movies are just romantic comedies with commitment issues,that Dracula and Sherlock Holmes are total hipsters,and,most shockingly,shows how virtually everyone in the Star Wars universe is functionally illiterate.   Romp through time and space,from the circus sideshows of 100 years ago to the Comic Cons of today,from darkest corners of the Galaxy to the comfort of your couch. For anyone who pretended their flashlight was a lightsaber,stood in line for a movie at midnight,or dreamed they were abducted by aliens,Luke Skywalker Can't Read is full of answers to questions you haven't thought to ask,and perfect for readers of Chuck Klosterman,Rob Sheffield,and Ernest Cline.
Status: Not Available
SKU
9780147517579
Special Price USD 10.49 Regular Price USD 19.08
Delivered within 5 business days
About Author

Ryan Britt

Product Details
Binding : Paperback / softback
Publisher : Plume Books
Publication Date : Nov 24, 2015
Weight : 136.00g
ISBN-13 : 9780147517579
Dimension : 203 x 137 x 13(mm)