Categories
Regular Price US$19.22
Member 10% Off
Effortless rewards, endless perks!

Ships out in 5 business days

Availability: In stock

OR
Still Lives

By Maria Hummel

Paperback / softback

'A thrilling mystery... still keeps us up at night, it's THAT good' REESE WITHERSPOON A REESE WITHERSPOON HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB PICK 1 OF 22 NEW BOOKS TO READ THIS SUMMER (TIME) 1 OF 20 NEW BOOKS TO READ THIS SUMMER (ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY) Kim Lord's face looked back at me, disguised in paint and the features of a murdered woman. Revered artist Kim Lord is about to unveil her most shocking show yet: Still Lives, a series of self-portraits in which she impersonates the female victims of America's most famous homicides, from Nicole Brown Simpson to the Black Dahlia. As celebrities and rich patrons pour into L.A.'s Rocque Museum for the opening night, the attendees wait eagerly for Kim's arrival. All except Maggie Richter, museum editor and ex-girlfriend of Greg Shaw Ferguson, Kim's new boyfriend. But Kim never shows up to her party and the crowd's impatience slowly turns to unease. When Greg is arrested on suspicion of murder, it seems that life is imitating art. Has Kim suffered the same fate as the women in her paintings? As Maggie is drawn into an investigation of her own, she uncovers dark and deadly truths that will change her life forever... Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Sharp Objects and Big Little Lies. PRAISE FOR STILL LIVES: 'Reese Witherspoon's new Book Club pick may be her boldest choice yet' Entertainment Weekly 'A gripping and entertaining mystery, and a biting cultural critique that seeks to understand our obsession with the violent deaths of beautiful women' Bustle 'A taut thriller... she writes a hell of an ending' LA Review of Books 'Will have readers feverishly turning pages... It's a stunning achievement' LA Times 'A mysterious page turner' TIME
About the Author

Name: Maria Hummel
Bio: MARIA HUMMEL is the author of Motherland, a San Francisco Chronicle Book of the Year. She worked as a writer/editor at MOCA in Los Angeles, then received a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford University and taught there for many years. She is currently an assistant professor at the University of Vermont, and lives in Vermont with her husband and sons.

Product Details
Quercus Publishing
11/01/2018
384
9781787479579
233 x 162 x 31 (mm)
486.00 (g)
About the Author

Maria Hummel

MARIA HUMMEL is the author of Motherland, a San Francisco Chronicle Book of the Year. She worked as a writer/editor at MOCA in Los Angeles, then received a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford University and taught there for many years. She is currently an assistant professor at the University of Vermont, and lives in Vermont with her husband and sons.

Product Details
Quercus Publishing
11/01/2018
384
9781787479579
233 x 162 x 31 (mm)
486.00 (g)

Back
to top

  Loading...