The Claire Tham Collection

By Claire Tham

Claire Tham brings together twenty-one short stories from three classic collections, each reflecting her prowess as a storyteller whose deft hands moulds stories to articulate her signature themes of rebellion and non-conformity. Lauded for her technical innovation of style and form in prose, these stories play with the presentation of time and space in the progression of narratives, creating multi-layered possibilities to keep readers entranced till the very last page.

Fascist Rock: Stories of Rebellion (published 1990)

The angry rebels who walk though these stories tease us with the most provocative of questions. Disturbingly familiar—bitterly and eloquently, they voice our own hidden rebellion.

Saving the Rainforest and Other Stories (published 1993)

“I believe in the sanctity of the ordinariness of everyday life: beyond its charmed boundaries lies confusion.” So speaks the voice of conservatism and conformity. But shouldn’t one fly, push oneself to the limit and beyond, break all rules? These stories explore the tensions that arise when the desire for personal fulfillment clashes with societies’ norms.

The Gunpowder Trail and Other Stories (published 2003) In this collection of stories, characters step away from the status quo, blazing a trail of quiet self-destruction

In stock
USD 14.82
About Author

Claire Tham

Since beginning her writing career at the early age of 17, the prolific Claire Tham has gone on to pick up several accolades, including two Commendation Awards from NBDCS and another two Golden Point Awards from the SPH-NAC Short Story Writing Competitions. A CHIJ and Hwa Chong Junior College alum, Tham graduated with a degree in law from Oxford University. One of her short stories, u201cLeeu201d (from Fascist Rock: Stories of Rebellion), was adapted for television on MediaCorpu2019s Alter Asians. Away from writing, Tham is currently a partner at a prestigious law firm in Singapore

Product Details
Publisher : Marshall Cavendish International (Asia)
ISBN-13 : 9789814677592